My Favorite Things Blog Tour!


Posted by Ryder Islington, Author of Ultimate Justice, A Trey Fontaine Mystery, and coming soon: Ultimate Game, A Trey Fontaine Mystery

I’m so pleased to have met Kylie Betzner, and to be included in is fun blog tour. Our goal is to introduce you to our writing by telling you our favorite things about something we’ve written. To see more Favorite Things Tour participants, check out Kylie Betzner’s blog at: http://litchicblog.wordpress.com/2014/12/08/my-favorite-things-blog-tour

and also:

Jennifer Conway at http://trueloveseries.wordpress.com/2014/12/08/my-favorite-things/

And now, here’s some of My Favorite Things

Ultimate Justice, A Trey Fontaine Mystery was my first published book. It came out in June of 2011 and book two, Ultimate Game, A Trey Fontaine Mystery, is in the final stages of preparation for release. Though the main character of these books is Special Agent Trey Fontaine, they are told in several points of view, including those of the antagonists.

Cover

Ultimate Justice lg

Blurb

It seems that some evil force had moves into the small town of Raven Bayou, Louisiana. It is brimming with dead bodies. FBI special agent Trey Fontaine realizes that a lot of the bodies turn out to be men who were child molesters, rapists, wife beaters and murderers. Someone seems to think it’s okay to take the law into their own hands. But is it evil to put a stop to molestation, rape, beatings and murder?

Can Trey Fontaine bring a halt to the violence? He has always followed the rules, worked within the system. He’s a straight shooter, a stickler for working within the parameters of the law. When the truth is revealed, will he be able to maintain his professional integrity? Or will doing the right thing be more important?

Intro

This seems like a strange exercise, sharing my feelings about my book. It’s so much easier to let the work speak. As I contemplated this post, it was hard to decide on a favorite scene, character and quote. Then I opened the book and read the prologue and the answer was obvious.

Character

One of my favorite characters is Wile, a seven year old boy who has been abused. He hates school, loves cheeseburgers, and has two siblings who are his best friends, fifteen year old Drew, and twelve year old Rocky. The three are inseparable, and Wile is the leader of this little pack.

Wile grew up in a small town in southwest Louisiana. His daddy had a quick temper and didn’t bother using his hands for discipline if there was a hose or a board around. Wile knows what ‘mean’ is and what it feels like to be in its path. Now he takes great pleasure in redirecting the path of ‘mean.’

Quote

One of my favorite Wile quotes reflects his sense of humor as well as the depth of his pain, though until you see it in context, you won’t understand it. Here it is:

“He ain’t lying. Daddy taught Rocky how to hunt ’em, skin ’em and dress ’em, and he’s real good at it. He can even tan the hides,” I said.

Now that you know a little about Wile and have heard his voice, check out the scene below.

Scene

“You know what to do,” I whispered.

Drew moved toward him slow and slinky-like, and unbuttoned the top of her sleeveless shirt and smiled. “Hey, handsome.”

He turned and looked over his shoulder. His lips smiled but the rest of his face didn’t. He didn’t have time to bat an eye before I stepped out in front of Drew. My foot hit his ribs and knocked him over. That kind of kick would make me a super star, if I was playing soccer.

“Surprise,” I said. I whupped up on him. He rolled onto his back and a grunt whooshed outta his mouth. His evil eyes stared right at me and I saw fear skip through ’em before the mad started to show.

He looked bumfuzzled clear through.

The man was big. I’d end up sorry if I didn’t do something fast. I landed on him and shoved the knife in deep. He bled like a stuck hog. His arms fell away, and his eyes scrunched up with pain and a look I didn’t know. Maybe he was confused, or scared. Ever what it was, it served him right. And ever what plans he had weren’t gonna happen.

Blood covered my left hand. “Warm. Velvety.”

Drew got on her knees next to the girl, but she didn’t move. She was all still and asleep. She looked sorta dead. The girl’s skin looked too white and her long hair tangled into a halo around her head. Drew cuddled the girl up into her lap and talked real soft like. She’s pretty good with kids. She’s sorta like a little kid inside and she kinda knows how it feels to be scared. She ran her fingers over the girl’s forehead.

We seen good mamas do that when their babies got sick.

I picked up a rag and sniffed it. “Smells of a dentist office.” I looked at Drew. “We can’t leave things like this. If she wakes up and finds him bleeding and looking kinda dead, she’ll feel more scared than ever.” Besides, I had a special surprise in the truck for him.

A dog barked.

“Grab a leg,” I told Rocky, and we pulled the man deeper into the woods. For three scrawny kids, we did okay. Noises stopped us. We stood still, trying to be super quiet, but we huffed and puffed so hard we scared our own selves. We decided faster was better, even if somebody might hear us.

Sweat ran down my back as we dragged the man over old leaves and tree roots until we found a place to rest a minute. “Go bring the truck down the ole’ dirt road off the highway,” I told Drew. She’s the oldest and she’s got another year till she gets her license, but she always takes us places.

Another yap from the dog and I knew it was near where we left the little girl. A sissy scream blasted through the trees. I stopped, breathing hard, listening.

A man’s voice.

And a woman’s.

She kinda cried.

The dog whined.

More crunching leaves. They found her.

Rocky smiled and I reckoned we thought the same thing. He squatted by the man’s head. “Daddy was a hunter. He taught me how to handle animals,” he whispered, his first finger layin’ against the dull side of the blade, just short of the gut hook.

“He ain’t lying. Daddy taught Rocky how to hunt ’em, skin ’em and dress ’em, and he’s real good at it. He can even tan the hides,” I said.

The man didn’t respond. He weren’t gonna. He was sleeping, peaceful like. We dragged him up close to the dirt road on the other side of the woods. When Rocky finished with him, people would know the man was bad. Rocky had a way of making wickedness spill right out in plain sight.

As you can see, Wile is damaged. But he has a good heart. He’s just a little boy who has decided there are a lot of bad men in the world who mistreat women and children, and it’s time to do something about it. Maybe the next time you feel anger or a need for revenge, you should remember Wile. Sometimes those feelings can lead to unexpected results.

Ultimate Justice, A Trey Fontaine Mystery is available in paperback and as an ebook and is available through online resources as well as brick-and-mortar stores. Below is a buy link for Amazon.com

http://www.amazon.com/Ultimate-Justice-Trey-Fontaine-Mysteries-ebook/dp/B0057Z2OI4/ref=sr_1_fkmr0_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1418058551&sr=1-1-fkmr0&keywords=Ultimate+Justice%2

4 comments on “My Favorite Things Blog Tour!

  1. I really enjoyed hearing about your book, character, scene and quote. I am totally with you on picking a favorite character and am still struggling with it. They are all a part of me and I don’t want anyone to feel left out. 🙂 I will check out your book for sure and have a great day! 🙂

  2. I enjoyed hearing about your book. It’s relieving I wasn’t the only one who struggled to pick my favorites. It’s amazing how difficult it is to pin-point what we like best about our writing! Thank you for participating!

Leave a Reply

