AUTHOR INTERVIEW: M.C.V. EGAN on The Bridge of Deaths


I had the privilege of interviewing Ms. M.C.V. Egan about her writing, and especially about how her book The Bridge of Deaths was created. Below in my interview. I found Ms. Egan gracious and her answers entertaining. When you’ve finished reading, you may want to roll back to the previous post where there is a bio, author photo, cover photo, and details about the book The Bridge of Deaths, including locations where you can read other interviews, guest posts, reviews of the book, and opportunities to receive a copy of this intriguing book.

Enjoy!

 

INTERVIEW WITH M.C.V. EGAN

 

 R.I.What led you into writing historicals?

 M.C.V.E.: History and I are one of those ironic twists of fate. I never got fantastic grades on the subject and I was quite certain that I was not very good at it. As I researched The Bridge of Deaths and began to explore history as a hands on adventure, I discovered it is almost like riding a bicycle. It just comes right back. Today I infuse a little history in almost everything I write. In the case of The Bridge of Deaths the historical aspect is HUGE because the storyline revolves around a very real 1939 plane crash in which my grandfather died. In 1939 only a select few got to travel the skies; thus researching the five men who perished that day and the one who survived was a fascinating historical journey.

 

R.I.: If you had to compare The Bridge of Deaths to another book, or compare your writing to another writer’s what book, or what author, would you use?

M.C.V.E.: COMPARE? Oh Boy! The Book I cannot compare and dare I say that the greatest compliment I ever got in my writing was from a friend who years ago said that reading my long letters made her feel she was reading something by W. Somerset Maugham, so I dream and I strive! The Original version of The Bridge Of Deaths got attention and good reviews because it was “UNUSUAL” I received many comments that people had never seen the combination of fact and fiction blended the way it is in the book. In the revised version I kept the integrity of the data but incorporated the historical as more cohesive with the narrative as well as adjusting some of it as Appendices for readers who prefer that.

 

R.I.: Did you find the research to be daunting? Or was it a pleasure?

 M.C.V.E.: Like a complicated love story it was both. In the almost two decades of research sandwiched into paying jobs and parenting. I had fantastic highs and lows that left me despondent and ready to through in the towel. The daunting part was in the frustration at lack of access or waiting for access to some of the archives. Another daunting bit was not understanding some of the technical data about the airplane; until I found a young British airplane aficionado who wrote his thesis on fires in the Lockheed Electra’s; he thanks me in his thesis and he was invaluable to me !The pleasure was putting the pieces of different archives together, no one file was the same, even the ones housed in Denmark. Also I would say not one file was complete. The closest was the one everyone can request at the Danish National Archives.

 

R.I.: How many revisions did it take before you were satisfied with the manuscript?

 M.C.V.E.: There were many revisions for the original. It was planned as strictly factual but I should have understood that the minute I took notes as a psychic held my grandfather’s watch that I had to incorporate fiction into the story. I am very glad I used traditional and completely untraditional resources but it crosses a line a lot of people need to have presented as fiction. The revised edition had a good five revisions and that is not a fun part of writing.

 R.I.: I agree with this whole heartedly!  Where do you see yourself in five years?

 M.C.V.E.:  In five years I will be SIXTY years old, my only son will be in his third year of university and the sky is the limit. I can probably choose to live in a different place, although South Florida is very nice. But yes you mean in writing 😉 I am launching a chick lit series with social issues backdrop but mostly entertaining. The series is about how things shape and define us, the first Defined by Others in a quirky way shows how affected we are by the society that surrounds us as we are growing up and how it leaves its mark into adulthood. It was my first NANOWriMo attempt and I hope to release by Oct 10th this year.

R.I.: Sounds like real fun. I’m looking forward to checking that series out. Thank you so much for spending time with us here at my blog. I look forward to reading and reviewing your book!

 M.C.V.E.: Great being here. Thanks for having me.

 

 

2 comments on “AUTHOR INTERVIEW: M.C.V. EGAN on The Bridge of Deaths

  1. I must say that I really enjoyed your questions and I am so happy to have had this interview.

  2. Thoroughly enjoyed the Q&A. M.C.V. Egan, you’re one fantastic writer! Following your blog, Ryder. 🙂 http://www.4writersandreaders.com

Leave a Reply

