What Do You Think of Multi-Genre Authors?


Like many authors, I have ideas for books in different genres. My first two books are mysteries, but the real point of them is the psychological motives behind the actions of the characters. I like delving into the mind, asking why. I like writing about real people, facing real problems, and reacting as individuals.

I’m working on a literary novel, one that may become a series. The basis of it is the way people raised in the same household can turn out so different. They think differently, have different motives, etc. I’d love to be able to write such a book, and promote it right here, on this blog, which has so far only promoted my mystery books.

Of course, I do promote all kinds of books on this site, mystery, thriller, time-travel, fantasy, historical, romance, etc. But I’m wondering how my followers would feel about me promoting my own writing in different genres on this site. I’d love to hear from you. How do you feel about this subject? Would you rather not read about my exploits in different genres on this site? Or do you feel that as long as I stick with the psychological drama of life, it would still fit with your interests?

 

6 comments on “What Do You Think of Multi-Genre Authors?

  1. As a reader, and a writer, I find that my interests are varied. So are my ideas. I write several genres, some are published, others are works in progress. I write from contemporary romance to steamy romance to erotica to sci-fi and I have an idea for a zombie apocalypse book. If I find a writer I like, I typically read everything they have written…… to make a long story short, write what moves you. (Because you can’t please everyone, so you might as well please your muse.)

    • Thanks for the response, Katie. I agree we should write what moves us. And I’m glad to hear that you not only write different genres, but read them too. So I’m going to assume that if you saw me promote a literary work of my own on this blog, it wouldn’t be a turn off.

  2. As far as fiction goes, I stick to writing mysteries, but I like to experiment with different sub-genre: humor, traditional, hard-boiled.

  3. NovaSaber says:

    I never really thought about it before, but honestly, I think more of my favorite authors have written in more than one genre than haven’t.

    • I think I asked the wrong question. Really, what I wanted to know was, if I write in several genres, would my mystery readers be confused, put off, or disappointed if I promoted on this site.

Leave a Reply

