BOOK REVIEW: Daughters of Memory by Janis Arnold


Review by Ryder Islington, Author of ULTIMATE JUSTICE A Trey Fontaine Mystery

You wouldn’t know it by the reviews I’ve posted lately, but I a lot of older books. By that, I mean books published in the last twenty or thirty years. I’m glad I do, because I might have missed out on this wonderful book. This is the story of two sisters, told in alternating points of view. Not just in the literary sense, but also in the vastly different views and memories of the two girls who grew up in the same household. It was published in 1991.

As a reader, it took me a while to decide if one or the other was lying, or had a poor memory, or maybe was just crazy. Of if indeed two people could see the same events in such vastly different ways. I won’t give my opinion as to which of these answers I decided on because I don’t want to spoil it for you. But I will say that I really enjoyed the book and will be keeping it on my shelf for years so I can enjoy it again.

I would recommend this book for women who have sisters. I mean, it’s a great book for anyone, but this really opened my eyes to how complicated life between sisters can be. There is a bit a mystery. And a great story.

Leave a Reply

