I’m An Author, Not A Salesperson


There was a time when writers just had to write. But now, in our new economy, in the ‘space age’, our roles have changed. Even if we get that coveted Big House contract, they don’t spend money on new authors, so we’re left with either no sales, or becoming salespeople.

I never wanted to go into sales. I’m not good at it. I don’t like it. In fact, if I had known twelve years ago what I know now, I might never have dreamed of being published. I might have decided to just write for my own enjoyment. Too late now. With book one of a series published, and an editor waiting on book two, I have to learn this new way of being a writer.

I bought the books about social media and advertising. I even read them. I’m told they’re in English, but I’m not so sure. The one thing they all stress, and I understand, is that we have to now be ‘social.’ The polar opposite of being a writer. It’s not that I don’t like people. I was raised in a large family. Not communicating meant being trampled! But having the pressure of ‘entertaining’ other people, of saying things they want to hear, of trying to come up with new material…Well…it’s a lot.

I enjoy blogging. I really enjoy reviewing books I’ve read. Facebook is an okay medium, though a tad confusing. Twitter blows my mind. I’ve been told not to toot my horn, but every tweet I get is a sales pitch. I mean EVERY ONE! I have yet to get on LinkedIn without having to take my computer to the shop.

So, what are us old dinosaurs to do? How can we compete with kids who grew up with the internet and can’t spend more than twenty minutes away from their electronic friends? Even if I look at socializing on the net as ‘writing’, I still can’t think of what to talk about everyday. Especially when I’m not supposed to talk about my book.  I mean, I really don’t do anything interesting. I never go out to eat. No theater here in town. No cable TV. No parties. I don’t drink much, and when I do it’s just a drink at home. I don’t know a lot of people around here. I read. I write. I occasionally can some veggies. Who’s interested in that kind of thing?  Let’s face it–I’m boring. That’s why I read and write!

I’d love to hear from you all. How do you cope? Can you recommend resources that might teach me? Is there something out there that will interpret The Internet For Dummies for me? If you’re successful, what are your secrets? Are you struggling with being a salesperson? Do you find it difficult to carve out time for twitter? Facebook? Do you understand how it’s all supposed to work? And if you do, would you pass some of that along?

3 comments on “I’m An Author, Not A Salesperson

  1. I’ve had to learn to sell myself, too, Ryder, and it does get easier. I was raised not to draw attention to myself, so I’m constantly battling the voice in my head that tells me to shut up. When I get overwhelmed with trying to understand every facet of social networking, I have to stop and tell myself that I can’t do it all, but at least I’m doing more than I did last year. Hang in there; you’re doing great.

Leave a Reply

