My Middle Is Sagging!


As all writers know, it’s that sagging middle of a manuscript that can make us crazy. My WIP has a great beginning and a bang up ending, but that darned middle looks like a string hanging down between two pieces of wire.

I don’t know how authors put out two, or three, or a dozen books a year!. How do they take the characters from safe and happy in the beginning, through a maze of problems, and bring them out the otherside? Well, I know all about bringing them out the other side. The ending of my WIP is kick butt rock solid. If only I knew what to do with those twenty chapters before the end, that keep the reader on the edge of his or her seat. Well I did it once, so I guess I can do it again. But for the life of me, I can’t remember how I did it the first time.

I’d love to hear from other writers as to how they manage to fill in that middle. I’ve found that it’s not so hard to get the characters in trouble, but getting them out in a believeable way is the trick.

One comment on “My Middle Is Sagging!

  1. Hello Ryder,
    I teach several classes on this specific topic. In fact, my popular workshop “Muscle Up the Gut of Your Story: How to Write the Novel” will be re-run online this January 2013. If you’re at all interested, that is. I have a sure-fire way of avoiding a saggy middle. 🙂

    Thanks for letting me go on a smidge. I offer my workshops at http://wp.me/PqaNh-Bz
    -Susan

Leave a Reply

