Welcome Guest Blogger Author Deidre Ann Banville!


I’m so happy to be able to introduce you to this author. Deidre Ann Banville has written a wonderful book on Caulbearers. I hope you enjoy this article as much as I did. It was a real eye-opener for me, and made me want to read the book. Don’t forget to leave a comment so your name will be in the running for a beautiful Southern Living basket.

Also, after the article are the addresses of other blogs on this tour. We’d love you to visit them, enjoy the articles, and leave comments for more chances to win.

 

NEW ORLEANS CAULBEARERS

During the early 1900s, there was a very large, majestic live oak tree which grew on Jackson Square, in New Orleans, Louisiana. Looking across it’s massive branches and moss covered limbs one could see the St. Louis Cathedral and the Mississippi River.  It was and still is a reminder of New Orleans’ old cultures and superstitions. Witches or anyone thought to be a witch, dealing with spirits and the supernatural were hung in this tree. Thus this historic tree was called The Hanging Tree.

My mother was born in 1908 with a veil. Then as is now, a baby born with a “veil” was known as a caulbearer. A facial veil is a thin layer of SKIN, not membrane from the amniotic sac, as it was described to me by my birthing physician. You see, when I was born in 1941, I too was born with a veil, but it was a full veil. Facial veils just cover the baby’s face, mine covered my face and body. Because there are so many superstitions and myths that follow this type of birth it wasn’t spoken about to anyone. Most family members were not told if a baby was born a caul. Remember, New Orleans at this time was a melting pot of cultures from immigrants who came from all over the world. Many people believed in voodoo, witches and other cult religions. It was the law way back then, that anyone even suspected of being a witch would be hung on the Hanging Tree. It is written now that less than 1 baby in 100,000 babies born are born with a veil.

When I came along, my mother harbored this information from me and the rest of the family. As time went by, noticing I was different, I would ask questions of my mother. I would witness spiritual things going on with my mother. I would get a pat on my head as a child and just told, “oh, you were born with a veil”. That was it. There was no “google” to go check, and I was too young anyway to know what people were whispering about me. I grew up normal, but thought everyone could hear, see, think the same things I was experiencing.

I vividly remember a summer trip with the family to Arkansas. My father was driving, mom in the front seat, and children in the back of a very long Buick. We drove for miles while my father looked for a stream he wanted to go fly fishing in and we could cool off in the stream and have a picnic. Suddenly, without fanfare, I saw this place my father was thinking and talking about. I leaned forward and told him exactly where it was, how far to drive and look on the left. The whole car gazed at me, but I just thought they were thinking how cute I was. I was eight years old. We pulled right up to the spot, kids all screaming to get out and go swimming and it was the exact spot that I saw in my mind. These types of things went on and are still going on.

During my 70 years on earth, I have learned so many things. Living with the gift of a veil has been, and still is, an amazing spiritual trip for me. There are too many stories to put here in this little blog, but I have just released my new book, and the only book of it’s kind. True stories debunking superstitions associated with the veil, all good things, all Godly things and I am truly blessed to have been born a caulbearer.

I do run into many evil skeptics and it never bothers me, because I know a message will soon be given to me or to them that will change their beliefs.
Helping other people gain encouragement or knowledge as to how to listen to their hearts and souls, is what is exciting for caulbearers. God gives us the information we need, when we need it and directs those who need help to us in the most exciting “coincidences” you have ever heard of.

Sometimes it is wise to be skeptical at the things you read on the internet. There are truly false prophets out there and my book explains, through witnesses, just how you are supposed to gather your gifts. I wrote my book mainly because I was driven to by God, for other caulbearers, so they may help others as I do on a daily basis. We are not witches, we are not starting a new religion, we are only answering God to help others. I questioned a lot of messages I was given, over and over I argued with Him, I didn’t want to look like a fool, telling strangers things I didn’t know where the information came from. I am an educated woman and so I argued with the voices. I found that every time I am asked to interpret signs, or get messages for people I do not know, they are always the correct things to do. The joy someone has who has lost a son by suicide, who hears me say, he is okay now, he is in heaven, he is telling me to tell you, this or that…he has on a blue shirt, with sleeves rolled up, and on it goes, that mother sobs for her son, but since I described what he had on when he killed himself, and he is talking…how can the mother doubt what I just said. That is how it goes and more.

I am a caulbearer, but mostly an astounding listener. To this day, I get amazed at some of the things God has me do. Throw in every word you know about paranormal, saints, visitations, ghosts, angels, everything, and that is who we are and what we do. But, only through God. He has chosen caulbearers to be his messengers on earth for the souls that have passed through the veil.


BIO:
AUTHOR, Deidre Ann Banville, is a native of New Orleans, Louisiana and has released her first book BORN WITH A VEIL; NOW WHAT? this month. Already she is getting raved reviews. Here are a few:

JW: “Be prepared for a full range of emotions as experienced by a real living Caulbearer. Rich in detail and captivating in its honesty, you will not put this book down once you’ve read the first page. For most of us, the failures and disappointments in life take their toll, but not for Ms Banville. Capturing life’s ups and downs with faith, humility and a strong belief in the Almighty, this book demonstrates that with God, all things are possible.”

pac: “What a wonderful view of life! The author carries you along with her in her many experiences. This is a book you will keep and read over and over again.”

vhs: “Truly, she has a gift from God. More than just stories, these inspirational experiences are uplifting. Deidre’s life long desire to understand her blessings and use for greater good, leaves you yearning for more. ”

Please visit her website for more information about her book and video trailer:  ithaveil.com

And for your further reading pleaseure, check out the blog of Penny Leisch today, and the two blogs listed below hers on Monday. Thanks for coming and good luck!

Blog Owner: Penny Leisch
Guest Blogger: Trisha Faye
Title: “Change…as the moon goes on shining”
URL: http://apennyandchange.pennyleisch.com/blog

Tour Date: Mon. July 2
Blog Name: Zetta’s House of Random Thoughts
Blog Owner: Zetta Brown
Title: “Texas Tornadoes and Other Memories”
URL: http://zettashouse.wordpress.com

Tour Date: Mon. July 2
Blog Name: Reflections of a Mississippi Magnolia
Blog Owner: Patricia Dorsey
Title: “A (Southern) Life in Poems”
URL: http://patricianeelydorsey.blogspot.com/

24 comments on “Welcome Guest Blogger Author Deidre Ann Banville!

  1. Debra says:

    Deidre, what courage it takes to come out and share about being a caulbearer. I’ve never heard of that term. I have heard born with a veil, but really did not know what that all meant. The words of your post just ~JUMP~ right off the page speaking to me and I can only imagine your book would do the same. :)))

    You are truly a blessing to those with which you share !

    The link to your web site did not show up fully….
    I went and hunted it down though.

    http://bornwithaveil.com/

    • Deidre says:

      Debra, thank you so much for your beautiful words. I am very blessed and I only want other people to know about this divine gift and those who have these gifts to learn how much they can help others and be rewarded with a “smile” from God. So glad you found the whole site, my email is on there as well, do email me when you “feel” like it. lol

  2. Very interesting. I knew a little bit about cauls having grown up in Tennessee. I will definitely be looking into this book. Thanks for sharing.

    • Deidre says:

      Cauls in Tennessee, interesting, thanks for your reply. I learn something different each day and appreciate your kind words. Let me know if there is anything you need to ask me.

  3. I never knew what a caul or caulbearer was until I heard about Deidre’s book. Stuff like this fascinates me. Thank you, Deidre, and thank you, Ryder for the post and for being on the tour! 🙂

    • Deidre says:

      OH NO!!!!!!!!!! Thank you for putting this great media together! I promise on the next tour I will have even more interesting stories…and since I live in the south, have daily happenings, that won’t be hard to do. (that is if my host will invite me again, lol)

  4. trishafaye says:

    FASCINATING!! Having many psychic/sensitive friends I have every belief in the messages and the spiritual world that surrounds us. I have to go get your book now. I’m sure I’ll be devouring it.

    • Deidre says:

      Very funny and so true…I hope you will devour it AND I hope you meet many caulbearers. I can almost guarantee you they have no idea what to do with their gifts…but they are there and they should embrace them. Keep an open mind and heart and soul, you’ll be amazed at what God let’s through to you. I’m working on the second/third books now…so you don’t need to rush, lol

  5. Penny Leisch says:

    Fascinating post. I love learning about myths and superstitions. I’m also glad that people can’t hang others just for being different now, usually. Your book is a courageous undertaking and sounds like an interesting read.

  6. Patricia Corona says:

    Wow – Just reading this gives me the good kind of chills!! Thank goodness that Ms. Banville has the power and not I – it would be lost on me, while she has the ability to accomplish wonderful deeds because of it. I guess I’ve been a skeptic most of my life, but since speaking with her, I’ve been converted!! God has chosen one of His own to help with his messages. I’ve read it over and over already!!

    • Deidre says:

      THANKS PATRICIA! I remember when you were a skeptic, I guess the little “fishing fly” story convinced you it was real, huh? I’ll never forget that magical day and it was a wonderful chapter in my book! Thanks for being my conduit for that day and that story! (see you didn’t know God was listening to you, huh?) lol

  7. ladydistinctive says:

    I have always been curious of supernatural happenings – I grew up in New Orleans, as did Deidre, and had a black nanny as a child. The things she would tell us little girls would make us very scared, and when I would tell my Mother, she would tell us it was just superstition. As a grown woman, I think now that there are many things that are inexplicable, that one can choose to believe or to ignore. This book seems to prove that, with God’s special gifts, there are things that will never be explained – perhaps that is His wish. Special blessings on those who have been persecuted for these gifts, and for those who are just speaking out for the first time, risking all to tell their stories.

  8. JSC says:

    This book, BORN WITH A VEIL, would never have been something I would have chosen to read. However, while vacationing, my wife had it lying about and I picked it up. From the very first page, I found I couldn’t put it down! It came to me that my “strange” aunt used to tell people about signs from God, but no one ever took her seriously except my Uncle who would say things like “She just knows.”. Looking back, I can see the same types of messages that Mrs. Banville speaks of, barely tolerated by the family as amusing. Now I wonder – did we all miss out on God’s special gift?

    • Deidre says:

      Yes, I am that “strange” aunt in my own family! And to this moment, my “cousin” I speak of in one of the chapters does not know that he is in my book! lol…my family was kind about it all, and yes many people dismissed my strange statements as a child, and it’s too bad, they could have had important messages had they had open minds or just a curiosity what I was all about. Thanks.

  9. Gerry Wilson says:

    Deidre, I had heard of cauls, but I didn’t know the story associated with them–that they impart special gifts. What a fascinating life you’ve led. I am “of a certain age,” too, and I believe that automatically makes us messengers of one sort or another. You are indeed blessed with a gift. I’ll have a look at your book. And congrats on publication, by the way!

    • Deidre says:

      Thank you Gerry…yours words are profound and I appreciate them. I wish my mother, also born with a veil, would have shared more with me, but just like her to let me figure it all out for myself!. She tried to tell me things, I was too young to know what she meant and didn’t ask questions. In those days, we, of a certain age, lol, were obedient children of the times, huh? But, I did ask questions as she grew older and older..it amazes me right now that I have these stories to tell and they keep coming. I can’t write fast enough some days! Thanks and thanks for leaving a comment. I am humbled by all of them.

  10. Very interesting piece ! Thanks for sharing !

  11. Very interesting essay! I’ve never heard of a caulbearer. Since I have experienced ghosts, I will very much enjoy reading Deirdre’s book. Thank you, Deirdre, for the post and Ryder for hosting. I have enjoyed this website!

    • Deidre says:

      Thank you Emily for the post! No pun intended, I just couldn’t help myself! lol…I think I could write another book JUST on ghosts, or spirits, and just tell you this…just remember and keep saying this, “ghosts will not harm you”…now, enjoy the book, I know yo will…

  12. dwillwrite says:

    What a great article. I so appreciate your taking on this topic.I have heard of this but now have a better understanding. Looking forward to checking out your book.

  13. PatriciaW says:

    How fascinating! But then I find all things (and people) New Orleans fascinating. I’d heard of the caul, but really never knew what it was.

  14. Deidre says:

    Well, thanks, and some people say (New Orleanians) that if you don’t live in New Orleans you’re camping out!…old saying, just means, people there and from there believe in the whole spirit of New Orleans. So many different cultures have been in New Orleans for hundreds of years and the end result is someone like me! lol…it’s all in my book…enjoy, and do cheer for our New Orleans Saints! lol

Leave a Reply

