BOOK REVIEW: Voyager by Diana Gabaldon


Review by Ryder Islington

Another grand slam for Ms. Gabaldon. Voyager revives the relationship between Claire and Jamie. There is not a single wasted word in this book. Everything that happens in the beginning chapters will be followed by some significant event later.

 I must say it wasn’t the story I expected. I thought I had it all figured out. I was sure certain events would occur, in a certain way. But Ms. Gabaldon surprised me over and over.

 Oftentimes in series, the first book is great, but things go downhill from there. Either the writing gets stale, or repetitive, or like on of my favorite authors, whom I won’t name here, the research shows as if the writer needs readers to know how hard she worked and how much she knows. Not so here.

 Jamie is as stubborn, and in as much trouble, as ever. Claire is so human—insecure even in those things she should be sure about. New characters are introduced and pull the readers’ strings, making us wish we could reach out and slap them, or hug them, or at least give them a good talking to. New lands are explored, and new issues arise.

 I recommend this series for anyone who loves to continue enjoying the company of old friends, while joining them on new adventure.

 

3 comments on “BOOK REVIEW: Voyager by Diana Gabaldon

  1. Janie Bill says:

    I always wondered about this authoress. You sold me. I love hanging out with old friends and never turn down an adventure.

  2. Just found this site and was skimming through. This review confuses me, I’m not sure I have enough information in it to know what the story is about.

    • This series is about a woman from 1943 who time travels back to Scotland in the 1700’s and finds political and social intrigue. She’s married to a great guy before the time travel, and then meets Jamie, a Scot, in the 1700’s.
      In book one she traveled back in time. In book two she traveled back to the 1940’s. Book three starts in the 1960’s and she travels back to the 1700’s again to find Jamie. All the books are huge and very detailed. Love them.

Leave a Reply

