Memories of Me: A Song From The Past


As I mentioned before, my dad sang and played guitar. He often did a song that I loved, though I’ve never heard it on the radio, and cannot find any mention of it on the net. I believe the name of it is Solder’s Khaki Sleeve, and it goes like this:

A little boy tugged gently on a soldier’s khaki sleeve.

He said forgive me Mister, you’ve been over there I see.

I can tell by the Purple Heart you wear,

just what you’ve been through,

and I thought perhaps you knew my dad, for he’s a solder too.

Did you see my daddy, Mr. Soldier,

while you were fighting over there.

I thought perhaps by chance, you’d met him there in France,

or somewhere over there across the sea.

It’s been so long since Daddy went away.

Mommy longs for him both night and day.

We would be so glad, if you had seen my Dad.

Did you see my daddy  over there?

The solder’s eyes grew misty, as he watched the boy’s face.

For it brought back memories that time could not erase.

A soldier killed in action, the best pal he’d ever had.

Till death did part, he wore o’er his heart,

a picture of this lad.

Did you see my daddy, Mr. Soldier,

while you were fighting over there?

I thought perhaps by chance, you’d met him there in France,

or somewhere over there across the sea.

It’s been so long since Daddy went away.

Mommy longs for him both night and day.

We would be so glad, if you had seen my dad.

Did you see my Daddy over there?

 

Still makes me cry. I’m pretty sure it was written during WWI but I could be wrong.  If you know anything about this song, who wrote it, sang it, maybe another title for it, I’d love to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

