BOOK REVIEW: Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte


 

Review by Ryder Islington

 This was the first great book I ever read. Jane Eyre is a story of the life of an English orphan. At ten years of age, Jane is in the care of her uncle’s widow, living a Cinderella life, as the outcast among her rich and spoiled cousins. Then, sent away to a girls school, she faces bitter cold and near starvation under the supervision of a hard man who runs the charity institution with an iron fist.

 But Jane preservers, and at the age of eighteen, secures a position as a governess to a little girl who steals her heart. More than anything, this is a love story. It is a historical romance. It is women’s fiction. It is a literary masterpiece.

 I read this book every December, from a leather-bound edition that includesWutheringHeights, the two books being the most popular by the sisters, Charlotte and Emily Bronte.

And each year it gets better. It’s not terribly long , but takes some time, at least for me, because the English language has changed much since the time it was written, and I sometimes have to stop and think about the true intent of the writer. But it’s definitely worth the time it takes and I’d recommend it to anyone who enjoys romance, historicals, or just good literary fiction.

 

3 comments on “BOOK REVIEW: Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

  1. I loved that book! What a great idea, to read it every year.

    • This leather-bound copy I have was a birthday gift from my daughter–her birthday was the 31st of Dec and mine the 27th. She died 10 days before her 25th birthday. We used to go birthday shopping together. I would pick my present from her, and she’d pick her present from me. I can’t remember for sure, but I think this was the last gift, from the last time we had the opportunity to shop together before she moved out of the state and I never saw her again. So I read it every December now–a remembrance. It might be boring if it were any other book, but I love this one, and since Wuthering Heights is included in this volume, I read it too.

      Ryder Islington ULTIMATE JUSTICE A Trey Fontaine Mystery Available now at http://www.ll-Publications.com

      http://www.ryderislington.wordpress.com

      >________________________________

  2. Candy says:

    We are a group of volumteers and opening a neew scheme in our community.
    Youur site offered us wiith valuable informmation to work
    on. You’ve done an impressive job and our whole community will be thankful to you.

Leave a Reply

