I Have This Cat…


We have this monster cat named Hannibal. He’s a tuxedo cat, black with a white ring around his neck, a white chest and tummy and white shoes on the front and stockings on the back. His fur is silky, his eyes are golden, with a hint of green. He’s beautiful. On the outside. On the inside, he lives up to his name, Hannibal the cannibal. He bites. He fights. He’s jealous. He’s temperamental, he’s stubborn. And he thinks he belongs to Joe, the English chocolate lab. These two can make my day sometimes. Hannibal winds himself around Joe’s legs. Joe chews at Hannibal’s fleas.

These two have made me consider writing a book from a dog’s POV. Or maybe one with a cat whose thoughts I write out, as he plays the roll of the fly on the wall. Imagine what a cat hears on a daily basis!

I wanted to share this because when I’m having a rough day, Hannibal will come lay on my chest and purr himself to sleep, as if he knows it’s not a day to be messing with me. He did that for me today when my brain was fried and I couldn’t seem to get anything done. It occurred to me that there have been all kinds of studies about how animals help people, relieving stress, bringing comfort. So if you find yourself unable to write, or do anything else, try snuggling up to a cat, or dog, or bunny.

This time of year is especially hard because we lost a child during December and though it’s been a while, we still miss her. Apparently, Hannibal felt my pain today and came to love on me. And he only bit me once!

There is nothing like the unconditional love of a pet. I hope everyone takes time out this month to help out the abandoned pets in this country. Volunteer at a shelter, or bring treats for the animals. Adopt if you can but don’t think you are unable to help if you can’t adopt. The shelters need money, food, treats, help.

Hannibal moved me to just send out a memo to remind everyone that animals are people too.

One comment on “I Have This Cat…

  1. Hi Ryder,

    You blog touched my heart. I hope Hannibal gives you comfort at this difficult time. Animals really are amazing, aren’t they? We rescued a pug from a puppy mill, and he’s a very special little guy. So loving.

    Thinking of you,

    Nancy 😉

Leave a Reply

