Taking Care Of Me First


I can’t believe how hard it is to take care of me. Just taking time out to walk for a few minutes, or do the exercises given to me by the physical therapist seems impossible.

I think this is the first article I’ve posted that really says something deeply personal about me. I’ve tried to concentrate on the art and skill of writing, getting published and promoting. I don’t know that this type of article is of any interest to readers and writers. But after over 100 posts, I think it’s time to share more than the outside, the public, side of me.

When I was an officer at the Sheriff’s Dept., I worked out every day, sometimes at two o’clock in the morning, but I got it done. Twelve years later I can’t do thirty minutes three times a week. Even very slow walking wears me out.

I’m so glad I gave myself several months to prepare for the blog tour. If I had tried to do it in just a few weeks, I would never have survived. I try to do something regarding promotions at least 3 days a week. And I’m supposed to be working on book two of the Trey Fontaine Mystery series but I’m just not able to do it all.

I can promote, or write, or take care of me, but I can’t possibly do all three, and even doing two is a challenge. My own personal health always seems to sink to the bottom, which sets off a chain of events that brings everything to a grinding halt.

I’ve read blogs and books by very successful authors who take time out every morning to work out. I’m not a morning person, and besides, my pain is usually worse when I wake up, and then again late in the day, than in the middle of the day. Since I know this, I’m trying to do my little routine after lunch. Today was a day to walk a few minutes but since I didn’t really get to sleep until after four this morning, I am already behind the eight ball today.

I have a great hubby, but he is not well and I want to spend every moment I can with him, while I still have him. I just don’t know how other writers work it all in without burning out to the point of illness.

I’d love to hear from those of you have overcome illness and managed to continue to write and promote. I know I’ll never give up, but some days I wonder if my tenacity is good for me or not.

One comment on “Taking Care Of Me First

  1. Great post thanks. I really enjoyed it very much.

    Love Blogging? We would love for you to join us!

    Check out this Step by Step Blogging Blueprint

Leave a Reply

