Scariest Book You Ever Read


This article is part of the Monday roll for the Rolling Mystery Blog Tour Ink group. Below the article is a list of other participants with articles on the same subject.  Please take the time to visit their sites and get different opinions on the topic of the Scariest Book You Ever Read.  Here is my answer to that question:

This is a simple one for me. Helter Skelter by Vincent Bugliosi is by far the scariest book I ever read. I was a teen when the Tate/LaBianca murders took place. Charles Manson and his followers scared the @#$^$%^  out of me.

I read the book when I was in college, living with two small children in a townhouse. I couldn’t go upstairs for weeks because that left the downstairs without anyone  to make sure no one got in. I wrote a report on the book and the crime as part of one of my Administration of Justice classes.

I still cringe when any news of Charles Manson or any of his group is shown on tv. There’s something about true crime that’s just scary–more so than Stephen King, Dean Koontz, or any other horror genre book. I don’t worry too much about vampires, zombies, werewolves, extraterrestrials, ghosts or goblins, but Charles Manson is a whole different animal.

 

http://chickdickmysteries.com                                                                                                                                                                             http://kathleenkaskawrites.blogspot.com

5 comments on “Scariest Book You Ever Read

  1. Cat says:

    I agree, that was a hard book to read. Any true crime really scares the crap out of me.

    Hugs!!!

  2. Hi Ryder,

    I can’t read true crime, it’s so disturbing I probably wouldn’t sleep at night. I’ll take vampires any day!

    Happy Halloween!

    Nancy
    http://chickdickmysteries.com

  3. Ryder,

    I felt the same way about “In Cold Blood.” I read it in high school and couldn’t sleep for weeks. After I began teaching, a true crime book was published, and I found out the killer was one of my former students! Talk about feeling unsettled. Fiction allows me to put some distance between fear and reality.
    Best,
    Kathleen

  4. I agree about Charlie Manson. The part the creeped me out the most wasn’t the killing. It was about how they would get into people’s houses while they were sleeping and the people never knew they had been there. I still sometimes wake up in the middle of the night sure that someone is in my house.

Leave a Reply

