Ryder’s Journal–Tuesday, Sept 20, 2011


It’s not enough that writers are expected to write. We also have to promote. And then there’s everyday life. You know–dishes, sweeping, dusting, feeding the dog, all that stuff. And then there’s all the shows on TV that continue to tell me I’m gonna die a miserable death if I don’t change my ways. I mean, really. Exercise. Eat right. Reduce stress. Get good sleep. Have sex more often.

So, I’m going to try something new. I hate exercise. By the time I was twelve, my activity level dropped to almost nothing. I never really enjoyed sports, or any kind of activity, except maybe eating, and horseback riding. But having no horse, nor money to rent one, puts a damper on the one really enjoyable calorie burning thing.

In my life I have done Yoga, Tai Chi, Pilates, Karate, jogging, grappling, weight lifting and bike riding. I enjoyed the Tai Chi because a friend was my teacher, but I rarely did it without her. Yoga helped a lot of painful issues, but I never learned to love it, or to do it out of a class setting. Karate requires continued training and that costs money. Jogging? Bad knees. Grappling? Requires another person willing to not kill me. Weight lifting? Boring and painful. Bike? arthritis in my spine. I have an excuse for everything.

But I have to do something or I’ll soon be bedridden. So, I’m going to start. Somehow. I’m trying to walk on the treadmill for a few minutes three times a week. And maybe five minutes of stretching or Yoga twice a week. Anyone out there want to join me?

Leave a Reply

