Ryder’s Journal–Wednesday, August 31 2011


The theme of this journal is the dilemma that authors face after we are published. Another facet is added to our daily lives as we try to balance our relationships and write, with all that encompasses, and also promote.

I have come to recognize that how much time I expend on the three parts of my life seem to cycle so that they are never balanced. For the last few weeks my time has mostly been consumed with personal issues–my own health, my hubbie’s health, things breaking, new things arriving. Promotion for the book has taken a distant second and actual writing is a distant third.

I wonder if there will ever be balance, or if it will always be like this. I hope that I can work things out so that maybe thirty percent of my time is used to write, and thirty percent to promote and the other forty percent can be used for all those things that don’t fit in the two previous categories. But I doubt that anyone’s life is so easily divided, or balanced. A time will come when I spend a lot of time writing and not much on anything else. And I’m sure there will be times when I’m promoting more than anything else.

For now, I just have to handle the issues that arise, one at a time, and work in writing and promoting as I can. This is why I chose a small press. I cannot be pressured into writing and promoting and not handling my life. Or even having a life. I love to write. But not so much that I’m willing to be miserable all the time. I have limits. And I have responsibilities. So all I can do is keep plugging along.

Leave a Reply

