Book Review: A Stolen Life: A Memoir by Jaycee Dugard


Review by Ryder Islington

This book is a heart rending true story of what Jaycee Dugard went through at the hands of a crazy man and his crazy wife. Ms. Dugard tells the story in first person, from before she was abducted through the present. I found it sad, and at the same time courageous.

It’s hard to believe that such rotten people as Phillip Gerrido and his wife exist, and yet we know it’s true. It makes me want to grab hold of everyone I love and never let them out of my sight. And it makes me feel very protective of every child in my neighborhood, and my city.

Ms. Dugard did a great job of conveying feelings, describing circumstances, and helping the reader understand how she became withdrawn, careful, and people pleasing, just to survive. I’m so glad she wrote this book. I hope parents all over America will read it. We, as parents, need to know how our acts affect our children. Ms. Dugard’s reaction to her captors, and to her mother after they were reunited, shows how very much children are molded by how they are treated and what they see in the adults around them.

I’m happy for Ms. Dugard and her girls. They are finally free, and receiving the help they need to go forward in life. This is a book I would buy, if for no other reason than to support this young woman who went through hell and came out the other side. But I hope people will read it for the powerful story it tells.  I hope everyone who reads this review will read this book. Bring a box of tissue. You’ll need it.

3 comments on “Book Review: A Stolen Life: A Memoir by Jaycee Dugard

  1. tubelaunch says:

    It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d without a doubt donate to this brilliant blog! I suppose for now i’ll
    settle for book-marking and adding your RSS feed to
    my Google account. I look forward to new updates and will talk about this website with my Facebook group.
    Talk soon!

  2. mobile games says:

    I used to be suggested this web site through my cousin.
    I am not positive whether or not this submit is written by way of him as no one else recognize such detailed approximately my difficulty.
    You’re incredible! Thanks!

  3. I really like what you guys are up too. Such clever work and coverage!
    Keep up the excellent works guys I’ve included you guys to my own blogroll.

Leave a Reply

