#Ryder’s Journal–Tuesday August 23 2011


The theme of this journal is the dilemma that authors face after we are published. Our job doubles. Now we have to write and we have to promote.

The day was filled with life. New appliances requiring warranty cards, contacting local utility companies for rebate/tax credit info, doctor’s appt. I spent a few minutes on facebook with friends and fans, wrote a blog article, fought with the unbearable heat, and made three jars of blueberry jam. A friend loaned me a copy of The Help, which I’m having a hard time putting down.

I have a character in my WIP who is from Texas–he is Hispanic and English–and I’m looking for some resource for Texas sayings. I think my best resource is a friend, but I have a hard time reaching her. I’ve been thinking on this character for a couple of days, trying to find an actor who would make a good Roberto–this is my MO, I find an actor for each character, so I always remember what s/he looks like by envisioning the actor–it’s not so easy with this character. I see him as 5’10”, broad and bulky, dark skin, black hair, brown eyes–but I still can’t really ‘see’ him.  Maybe tomorrow I’ll get online and just check out Hispanic male actors.

Leave a Reply

