Favorite Male Mystery Hero


This article is part of the Rolling Mystery Blog Tours Ink rolling tour for Wednesday. The roll started with Nancy Lauzon’s blog at http://chickdickmysteries.com, and ends with me. Hopefully, some of our partners will soon be available to participate soon.  

And now, on to my article: My Favorite Male Mystery Hero

I have to admit that it’s been years since I read the old mysteries. There doesn’t seem to be enough time in the day to do all I want, especially to read all I want, and because I know there are many things about writing that have changed, things that used to be acceptable and now are not, I usually spend my reading time on contemporary mysteries, thrillers, suspense, and also books on how to write, publish, and promote your work.

But no male mystery hero can compare to Sherlock Holmes. And Adam Dalgliesh from P.D. James’s Adam Dalgliesh Mysteries. I read a lot of suspense/thrillers, and I love James Patterson’s Alex Cross. And his books do have mystery in them, but they don’t feel like mysteries. They feel like thrillers.

As I’ve said before, I haven’t really seen the true mystery written lately. Editors require character development and sub-plots to the point that the mystery is sometimes lost. My own mysteries have major character development and lots of sub-plots, and I still call them mysteries, but they are not to be compared to the mysteries of old.

And of course, if I call my books mysteries, then Trey Fontaine would have to be my favorite Male Mystery Hero–a drug abusing FBI agent in love with the same woman since he was a boy, who wants to be the best at what he does. He is six feet tall, two hundred pounds of mostly muscle, dark curly hair, caramel colored eyes, honest, fair, education, intelligent, gentle…except for his drug problem, and the fact that every woman has to live up to that first one, he’s perfect.  You should really get to know him.

If you’re interested in reading other articles from the Rolling Mystery Blog Tour Ink group, check out these articles on my blog, which have links to blogs on the same topics: Mystery Writers Who Inspire Us; Favorite Mystery Movies; Red Herrings; Writer’s Conferences.

Please join us on Friday when the Rolling Mystery Blog Tour Ink Group tackles the question What Can and Should Writers do to Support Literacy? The roll will start at KT Wagner’s blog at http://www.northernlightsgothic.com/blog

3 comments on “Favorite Male Mystery Hero

  1. Ha! You and I have similar tastes in mystery heroes! Great post –

    Nancy
    http://chickdickmysteries.com

Leave a Reply

