Mystery Writers Who Inspire Us


This article is part of the Rolling Mystery Blog Tours Ink rolling tour for Monday. Other bloggers who are participating in this roll are listed at the bottom of this page, past the article. 

And now, on to my article: Mystery Writers Who Inspire Me

Nowadays, there aren’t very many extremely popular traditional mystery writers. Not like the old Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Dashiell Hammett, Agatha Christie–true mysteries. Mysteries seems to be mixed with thriller/suspense more these days. But there are some mystery writers who are well-known and good at real mystery writing.

Janet Evanovich writes a series of cozies which are fun, and also have mystery to them. Faye Kellerman, Sara Paretsky, Minette Walters, Tess Gerritsen and Linda Howard write mysteries, though there is a lot of thriller to some of them. I love all of these authors. I’ve read dozens of their books and learned from them. One of my favorite authors is Greg Iles. His books are full of people, not characters. And he’s good at mystery.

Though every author on my list is poplular, all write mystery to some extent, and I’ve used all of them as teachers, there is still nothing like the masters from long ago.  Daphne Du Maurier, Frederic Dannay and Manfred Bennington Lee, Edgar Allen Poe–these were mystery writers.

I call the books I write pyschological mysteries, because I love the mystery of the mind. I want the readers of my books to unlock the mysteries of why people who look just like them can commit unthinkable crimes against other people. I want people to know that anyone is capable of terrible acts. And  I want them to experience the emotions that can run through the mind of those whom we feel we can’t understand.

So, that’s it for me. I have at least 400 books on my shelves that fall into the thriller/suspense/mystery genres. I wish I could just sit around and read day and night–well…when I’m not writing…

Please visit the next blog on the list:  Nancy Lauzon–http://chickdickmysteries.com

6 comments on “Mystery Writers Who Inspire Us

  1. Great blog, Ryder. The mind is an excellent subject for a mystery novel. Now that’s a mystery I wish I could solve (especially for some people in my life)!

    Nancy

  2. mollie bryan says:

    I just read my first first Janet Evanovich this summer and I really enjoyed it. But I’m really in love with Sir Doyle! Great post Ryder.

  3. KT Wagner says:

    I read somewhere there are about fifteen mystery sub genres. When the crossover genres are added in, I expect that number triples.

    Readers need a score card!

    🙂

    KT

  4. When I was in college I wanted to write like Elmore Leonard. Now, decades later, I want to write like Elmore Leonard.

    William Doonan
    http://www.williamdoonan.com

Leave a Reply

