#Ryder’s Journal–Monday August 8, 2011


The theme of this journal is the dilemma that authors face after we are published. Our job doubles. Now we have to write and we have to promote.

My writing on Mondays start with an episode of a continuing serialized fictional account of women in the old west. This is a weekly 500 word newspaper column. I didn’t get any writing done on my WIP.

With both wrists swollen, it’s hard to put words down, but I continue to work out scenes in my head and make occasional notes in the notebook for this story. I’m not much of a plotter, but I like to have an idea of where I’m going, so I keep a notebook on each story in which I keep character sketches, descriptions, details like location, weather, a timeline, etc. Sort of like brainstorming for one.

Hope tomorrow is a better day for writing.

Leave a Reply

