#Ryder’s Journal–Saturday August 6, 2011


I’ve been thinking of how I can manage to blog something everyday and finally came up with a solution. Starting tonight, my plan is to make an entry to my journa every day. The theme of this journal is the dilemma that authors face after we are published. Our job doubles. Now we have to write and we have to promote. 

So for tonight I’m just going to say that on Saturday, I don’t do either. At least not until sundown, when the Sabbath ends. I want these entries to be short enough so that you don’t mind visiting everyday and seeing what it’s like to face both challenges at the same time.

Since I’m working on a #trilogy, and the #first book came out in June of this year, readers will expect the second book next year. The problem is that it took me years to write the first one. Granted, I learned a lot in that process, but that doesn’t make the writing easier. And now I have to #promote book one while I’m writing book two. This is a bit overwhelming.

I used to be able to multi-task, but no more. My mind can only concentrate on one thing at a time. Tonight, I plan to work on the #plot of book two, which for me is a challenge in itself, since plotting is not my strong suit. Since bookstores and newspaper offices are generally closed on the weekend, I can only do #promotion online tomorrow. Or I could write. Whoa is me! What to do. What to do.

Come back tomorrow and see how it goes.

2 comments on “#Ryder’s Journal–Saturday August 6, 2011

  1. Zakgirlsfarm says:

    Ryder? Seriously, there’s really only one option, and that’s to WRITE!
    Hate to be the one to say it but that’s the deal.

    You can do it!!!

    Can’t wait to see how your “online daily” goes. It’s not an easy goal you’ve set yourself but I believe you can do it, now prove me right! And Write.

    Zak. 🙂

    • Hi Zakgirl:I didn’t say the entries would be fabulous! If I can just put out a hundred words a day on the blog–just kind of What I Did Today regarding writing and promoting, it may help others see how hard it is if you want your work to actually sell. Newbies don’t get a promotions account from publishers. And they don’t buy book 2 of book one doesn’t sell.The worst that will happen is I’ll have to admit I can’t do it.Ryder Ryder IslingtonULTIMATE JUSTICE A Trey Fontaine Mystery Available now at http://www.ll-Publications.com http://www.ryderislington.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

